Tired

Tags


Tired

By D. Ottalini

Tiredness is the smell of morning coffee / Alertness is the feel of warm sheets.  / We’d all come to find that life is lovely / If we spent a moment to actually live life / To breathe / to feel / to wonder / to marvel / to let go / to murmur when others yell / and scream when no one hears but the frigid night / We’d all find life is lovely  if only we bothered to live it

at all.

 

Have you turned off your Internet today?

Tags

,


Howdy folks,

I wanted to talk briefly today about something I think we could all use.

A day / week / month without internet.

Continue reading

Gunslinger D&D Character – First Time Creation & Background Writing

Tags

, , ,


Never thought I’d be a D&D player, but here we are. Image result for gunslinger

Continue reading

Roman Colonies in the New World “What If?”

Tags

, , ,


Otherwise called…where would the Romans actually have settled in the New World?

As I discussed in my previous post a long ago post, the Empire (in reality) could have funded some colonies in the new world if the right set of circumstances had existed. But where would they have settled? What does the new world look like in the world of the Steam Empire Chronicles?

Continue reading

Any Writing is Good Writing – Right?

Tags

, ,


Random thought of today – Any writing is good writing, right? (write?)

I’m joining a D&D campaign later this month, and after being provided a hefty dose of world building (Thanks DM!) I ended up writing about 4-5 paragraphs about my character. Pretty fun, and I realized how much I actually missed writing. I don’t suppose anyone would like to read my tentative background here, but if you are, leave a comment below and I’ll be glad to post it.

Today’s Message: Socks are incredibly warm and necessary.

How Writing Saved My Life – A guest post by Phoebe Darqueling

Tags

, ,


art is why i get up in the morning twitter

Greetings all, especially to those who have come to my humble blog to read this! The following is a guest post by Phoebe Darqueling, a fellow steampunk author who I’ve been fortunate enough to connect with over several book tours and write-a-thons. Check out her recent release – Riftmaker – out on February 14th!

As for me, I’ll enjoy reading the post as well.  Continue reading

I’m Alive!


Salve!

Long time no write, been a long winter! It’s a frigid weekday here, and schools are closed, so that means it’s time to write this lovely, simple message. I’ve been really busy adapting to a new school, finishing a Graduate School Certificate program, and in general hanging out with family, friends, and the fiance. With the publication of Laurel Emperor, the books have taken a bit of a back-burner. That will definitely change this summer, as my grad school program finishes, but in the meantime, we’ll just keep puttering along! I’ve got a few guest posts coming up in the next few weeks as I look to help out fellow authors, so be sure to check them out! Stay warm out there, folks.

  • Daniel

Caesarian Colonies – How a Roman New World Might Develop

Tags

, ,


Hi All,

As part of the world of the Steam Empire Chronicles, I’ve mentioned the ideas of colonies in the new world multiple times. Indeed, there’s a variety of reasons that Rome would indeed seed and establish colonies in the ‘new world’ or Caesaria, in the novels. From ‘expansion space’ for retired veterans, to the ever driving need for new markets, slaves, and farmland, etc. A Rome with stronger, more stable neighbors, would need an additional outlet.

Continue reading

What’s coming next?


So, with the recent release of Laurel Emperor (Now available on Nook or Kindle or Smashwords) I’ve been doing a long, hard think about where I’m going to go from here. I do have a handful of ideas, of which I’ll be happy to share with you today. I’m also interested in hearing from you, my readers! What aspects of the world of Romanpunk would you like to see or read about? Which of these ideas sound good to you?

Ideas already in the works.

IronTributeIllo4_09_02_15

More airship crashes?

  1. Paperback of Laurel Emperor (within next few months)
  2. Anthology of all 5 novels in one single book (paperback only – with additional illustrations)
  3. Young Adult concept focused in the world of Romanpunk and the Speculatores (spy-like drama)

What else would you like to see?

 

The Laurel Emperor is Crowned!

Tags

, ,


His Royal Highness has gratefully declared today to be a national holiday to commemorate the release of Laurel Emperor, Book 5 of the Steam Empire Chronicles.

LaurelEmperor_1877x3000-AmazonOrder Laurel Emperor today on Nook or Kindle! or Smashwords (Soon to make the novel available on Kobo & Apple iBooks.)

(Short Synopsis) Fans of Harry Turtledove & S.M. Stirling alike will love the fast-paced action and colorful world building of the Steam Empire Chronicles. In a timeline where Rome never fell & the Dark Ages never came to be, new challenges appear to fracture the still-mighty empire. Laurel Emperor is the heart-pounding, airship shaking, sword-breaking finale to this alternate history & steampunk series.

(Long Synopsis) Civil war rages across the fractured Roman Empire in the 1850s. Rightful heir to the throne Constantine Tiberius Appius has successfully repelled the Mongolian invasions, but at a cost. The usurper Sabinus, Constantine’s uncle, rules in Rome, and his forces press through the shattered loyalist defenses, stripped to support Constantine’s campaign in the east. Loyalist and rebel forces converge in Thrace, and as casualties mount, new weapons of war are unleashed upon friend and foe alike. Constantine and his closest allies, the men of the XIII Germania, find themselves once again thrust into the spotlight. As the loyalists march towards the inevitable final battle, they face the true question of war – how much are they willing to sacrifice for victory? The fate of the Empire rests with a handful of common legionnaires, led by the last true scion of a dynasty stretching over a thousand years, in the final novel of the Steam Empire Chronicles – Laurel Emperor.